Thursday, April 11, 2013

Vouched Book! The Court of the Air by Stephen Hunt

The Court of the Air
Stephen Hunt
Book #1 of Jackelian series
Publication: Published March 31st 2009 by Tor Fantasy (first published 2007)
Genre: Steampunk Science Fiction; Adventure; Science Fiction; Young Adult

Amazon B & N Goodreads
When streetwise Molly Templar witnesses a brutal murder at the brothel she has recently been apprenticed to, her first instinct is to run back to the poorhouse where she grew up. But there she finds her fellow orphans butchered, and it slowly dawns on her that she was the real target of the attack. For Molly is a special little girl, and she carries a secret that marks her out for destruction by enemies of the state.

Oliver Brooks has led a sheltered existence in the backwater home of his merchant uncle. But when he is framed for his only relative's murder he is forced to flee for his life, accompanied by an agent of the mysterious Court of the Air. Chased across the country, Oliver finds himself in the company of thieves, outlaws and spies, and gradually learns more about the secret that has blighted his life.

Soon Molly and Oliver will find themselves battling a grave threat to civilization, an ancient power thought to have been quelled millennia ago. Their enemies are ruthless and myriad, but the two orphans are also aided by indomitable friends in this endlessly inventive tale full of drama, intrigue, and adventure.

The Court of the Air is a rollicking adventure set in a fantastical Dickensian clockwork universe that will appeal to fans of Susanna Clarke and Philip Pullman.

Okay, here it is. This was an awesome book. Took me a few tries to get into the first time I read it, but after that it was easy. You've got two very different main characters who are acutally very similar. They are both orphans in a sense of the word and both are dragged into a war that has been going on for years. Secrets abound in this novel and some of them will astound you. Out of all the characters, I like Molly the best. She fights for what she wants and she also fights for the little people. At first your like the character Harry, but as the story goes, you really turn to hate him because of all the shit he drags Oliver into. You've got puppet kings, ruthless council men. It kinda reminds me of that French king that let his cardinal pretty much rule in his stead. Anyway, this is an awesome book full of adventure and if you like steampunk, you'll really enjoy this because it's full of it. So check out this novel and I hope you enjoy!


Post a Comment